Red Bull Theater Short Play Fest Seeks 2018 Submissions

Red Bull Theater Short Play Fest

The Red Bull Theater is presenting the work of two of the nation’s better known playwrights and seeking submissions from other writers for six more slots.

The Red Bull Theater says its 2018 Short New Play Festival, with the theme of “The Language of Love,” at the Lucille Lortel Theater, will include commissions from Tina Howe and Doug Wright and six new plays chosen from hundreds of submissions from playwrights across the country.

Scripts can use heightened language, verse; a classical theme or style or a classical story. The deadline for submissions is noon on April 23.

Playwrights are being asked to submit work on the theme “The Language of Love” that are up to 10 minutes long. For information or to submit, go to

Selected writers will receive a commissioning fee of $300 plus a travel reimbursement of up to $400 to attend the festival’s rehearsal and performance.

Selected plays will receive a staged reading performance in the festival on Monday July 16 at 7:30 p.m., directed by Pamela Berlin and Evan Yionoulis, performed by some of the best and better known actors in New York City.

The 2018 Short New Play Festival will be at Lucille Lortel Theatre, 121 Christopher Street, between Bleecker and Hudson Streets.  The Red Bull Theater 2018 Short New Play Festival is made possible thanks to the financial support of The Noël Coward Foundation.

Tina Howe’s plays include Birth and After Birth, Museum, The Art of Dining, Painting Churches, Coastal Disturbances and Pride’s Crossing.

She in 2010 helped launched the Rita and Burton Goldberg MFA in Playwriting at Hunter College, after teaching there for so years.

Doug Wright won the Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award for his play I Am My Own Wife and wrote Grey Gardens (Tony Nomination), The Little Mermaid, Hands on a Hardbody  and War Paint as well as Quills, both as a play and movie.

The Red Bull Theater’s Annual Short New Play Festival in over eight years has generated more than 1,000 new short plays on classic themes. It also has commissioned and presented work by Lee Blessing, Constance Congdon, Lisa D’Amour, Elizabeth Egloff, Amy Freed, David Grimm, John Guare, David Ives, Ellen McLaughlin, Peter Oswald, Regina Taylor and Anne Washburn.